Our Team

Helen Southall

Physiotherapist BSc (Hons), MCSP

Back to team

Q: University and work experience?

A: I studied Physiotherapy at the University of Birmingham and graduated in 2018 with a First Class Honours degree. I gained fantastic experience in adult and paediatric musculoskeletal conditions, stroke rehabilitation and medical inpatients. During my studies, I completed an internship at Birmingham City Football Club Academy. Here, I worked Pitch Side, assessing and managing injuries and assisted at academy injury clinics; rehabilitating players back to full fitness. Dance is a big passion of mine, so I was very excited when I got the opportunity to work with a professional dance company; treating and rehabilitating injuries and helping to keep dancers performing at their best. Prior to physiotherapy, I studied Sport and Exercise Science, again at the University of Birmingham and graduated in 2013. This knowledge has certainly facilitated how I rehabilitate patients back to full fitness. My physiotherapy career started within the NHS in a Musculoskeletal outpatient department. I gained invaluable experience in treating a wide range of conditions for people of all ages. I particularly enjoyed post-operative rehabilitation. It’s a privilege to work alongside patients to help them achieve their goals.

Q: What’s your favourite patient journey and why?

A: I was really pleased and proud to help a young guy who presented to me with a long-term injury to his ACL. His knee was very sensitive, and everything from walking to bending his knee was incredibly painful. We worked together with manual therapy and exercise, and he made amazing progress. So much so that he took up running!

Q: Top pastimes?

A: I love skiing! I try and go at least once a year. My favourite place to ski is the French Alps. I love pushing myself on challenging runs, but you can’t beat a cruisy blue run either. I worked a ski season in New Zealand when I was travelling a few years ago. The views at the top of Treble Cone are the best I’ve seen – I would recommend! At home, I like to keep fit by running and doing yoga!

Q: Most proud achievement

A: Leaving home at 21 and travelling Asia, Australia and New Zealand for 20 months!

Q: What do you do at weekends?

A: At the weekend you can find me catching up with friends and family in Northampton, Birmingham or Suffolk.

Q: Favourite dinner party guests?

A: Gordon Ramsay – to do the cooking. Greg Davies – for entertaining stories at the table Chic and Nile Rogers – to turn the evening into a party!

Follow us on Instagram

@thebackandbodyclinic

Call a Clinic